Budget
  • FILE PHOTO: An aerial view of the Pentagon building in Washington

    This State's a Big Winner When It Comes to Defense Spending

    By Michael Rainey

    Spending on huge weapons programs like the F-35, which has an estimated lifetime cost of more than $1 trillion, is carefully spread around the country to maximize its economic impact – and to make it...

  • State Pension Funds Fall Deeper in the Hole

    By Michael Rainey

    State pension plans are facing a massive $1.4 trillion funding gap, according to a new analysis from the Pew Charitable Trust. Pension liabilities in all 50 states increased by $295 billion to...

  • Why Trillion-Dollar Deficits Matter

    The Congressional Budget Office confirmed this week that the deficit is on pace to surpass $1 trillion in 2020 and climb higher from there barring action by leaders in Washington, potentially...

  • Logistics Specialist Seaman Alison Wise mans the rails aboard the U.S. Navy aircraft carrier USS Harry S. Truman in Norfolk

    Cost of War in Syria Is Rising

    By Michael Rainey

    President Trump said last week that he wanted to remove U.S. troops from Syria as soon as possible, but resistance from the Pentagon apparently changed his mind, and new reports that Syrian forces...

  • Teachers rally outside the state Capitol for the second day of a teacher walkout to demand higher pay and more funding for education in Oklahoma City

    How Tax Cuts Are Influencing Teacher Strikes

    By Michael Rainey

    Thousands of public school teachers in Oklahoma entered the 10 th day of their strike on Wednesday, part of a wave of labor protests by educators around the country. West Virginia teachers went on...

Budget Directory

Tags
Monday, March 5, 2018 - 5:28pm
Thursday, March 1, 2018 - 7:15am
Wednesday, February 28, 2018 - 2:00pm
Monday, February 26, 2018 - 5:30pm
Friday, February 23, 2018 - 5:45pm
Thursday, February 22, 2018 - 2:45pm
Wednesday, February 21, 2018 - 5:54pm
Tuesday, February 20, 2018 - 5:35pm
Tuesday, February 20, 2018 - 5:23pm
Friday, February 16, 2018 - 5:15pm
Friday, February 16, 2018 - 5:08pm
Thursday, February 15, 2018 - 5:55pm
Wednesday, February 14, 2018 - 5:26pm
Tuesday, February 13, 2018 - 6:34pm
Tuesday, February 13, 2018 - 6:10pm
Monday, February 12, 2018 - 5:52pm
Monday, February 12, 2018 - 10:30am
Friday, February 9, 2018 - 6:00pm
Thursday, February 8, 2018 - 5:49pm
Thursday, February 8, 2018 - 5:42pm
Wednesday, February 7, 2018 - 6:02pm
Monday, February 5, 2018 - 5:45pm
Monday, February 5, 2018 - 5:30pm
Friday, February 2, 2018 - 6:00pm

Pages